Walsh Jesuit English Department

The English Department believes that each student has the capability of becoming a strong writer. To this end, much effort is given to helping the student develop a thorough approach to composition, from the initial selection of a topic and supporting ideas to the writing of a draft and revisions to the preparation of a final copy that reflects sound proofreading and presentation. Further study is given to grammar, mechanics, and vocabulary to help the student produce the best composition of which he or she is capable. This takes much effort and time in order to succeed. Emphasis is placed on expository, argumentative, and narrative writing plus opportunities for research. A Writing Lab has been established for individual conferences available several times during the day.

The Department also affords numerous opportunities for the study and enjoyment of literature. A thorough knowledge of literary terms and an approach to reading the different genres (story, poem, play, novel, and nonfiction) is a unique aspect of the early years. Survey courses in American and British literature provide a literary and historical basis for further study in several elective courses in the later years. Advanced Placement courses are also available in junior and senior years.

 

Walsh Jesuit English Department

ADAIR JOSEPH STA BOK MRS. DEBORAH STA ELLIOTT EMILY STA KRUEGER LAURA STA

 Mr. Joe Adair

 Mrs. Deb Bok

 Mrs. Emily Elliott

 Mrs. Laura Krueger

 LEE MR. DAVID STA  MARQUARD CATHERINE STA MARQUARD ANDREW STA MORRISON CORINNE STA

Mr. David Lee '87

 Mrs. Catherine
    Marquard

 Mr. Drew
Marquard

 Ms. Corrine Morrison

 SALATA MRS. BETH ANN STA SOUTH SAMANTHA STA   WOJTOWICZ MISS JULIE STA  

 Mrs. Beth Ann
Salata

 Mrs. Sam South

Ms. Julie Wojtowicz

 

                
          Faculty in the English Department:

Mr. Joe Adair, adairj@walshjesuit.org

Mrs. Deb Bok, bokd@walshjesuit.org

        Mrs. Emily Elliott, elliotte@walshjesuit.org

              Mrs. Laura Krueger, kruegerl@walshjesuit.org

             Mr. David Lee '87, chair, leed@walshjesuit.org

                          Mrs. Catherine Marquard, marquardc@walshjesuit.org

                Mr. Drew Marquard, marquarda@walshjesuit.org

                 Ms. Corrine Morrison, morrisonc@walshjesuit.org

              Mrs. Beth Ann Salata, salataba@walshjesuit.org

            Mrs. Samantha South, souths@walshjesuit.org

                Ms. Julie Wojtowicz, wojtowiczj@walshjesuit.org


PROGRAMS OF STUDY


Walsh Jesuit High School
4550 Wyoga Lake Road
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
44224-1059

330.929.4205 (local)
Jesuits Midwest Color Vert 800.686.4694 (outside Akron)
School Directory

info@walshjesuit.org

webupdates@walshjesuit.org

All content contained herein Property of Walsh Jesuit High School, unless otherwise noted.